Desert Dreams

2

I wonder if Aki ever dreams of other climates when we walk down a rain forest trail on a hard day. I do. On this wet, windy transit of a north Douglas trail, I pretend that it will soon lead onto the south rim of the Grand Canyon just as the sun rises to set off the sunset colors of layered rock and sand. But the trail will never lead me out of this land of greens and browns so subtle that they could be shades of gray. It will take me to a beach exposed by an ebbing tide.

3

The rain stops when we reach the beach. A gang of surly looking gulls watch us as a formation of four harlequin ducks patrols offshore. Further out, white caps tromp across Lynn Canal and clouds from today’s storm obscure the mountains. Small, unexpected waves of contentment wash though me, keeping time with the ones dying on the shore. As fat drops of rain again soak her fur, Aki gives me a look that might be an accusation that I have lost my mind or a plea to book us both space on a jet to Arizona.

1

4 thoughts on “Desert Dreams

  1. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Beautifully written, as usual. I love the first photo of the water, where it looks like there are fun shapes, like a sail boat and a bridge appear in the water. Fun post. Thank you. : )

    Reply
  2. Dan Branch Post author

    Thanks for your kind words. The first photo is of little islands of open water in an ice covered pond. There is so much rain water covering the ice, it is hard to see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

