Bad Moods

1

Aki is in a foul mood. She growls at people walking on the other side of the street and sometimes at things I cannot see. Maybe she sees the ghosts of the old miners that once lived in the old Craftsman houses we pass on this walk through downtown Juneau. When I stop to photograph an eagle roosting in a nearby alder the little dog tugs her leash just as I click the shutter. Now I am in a bad mood. On the crooked steps that lead from Gastineau Ave. to tidewater, we hear a song sparrow’s clear, sweet song. I look for it in the step-side brush but find it just in front of me on the roof ridge of a shack. For once Aki does not tug as I click the shutter. The resulting photo shows a bird on the verge of a bad mood.

2

Leave a Reply

