Anchorage Moose Family

moose

In Anchorage, hundreds of miles away from Aki, I wonder what she would do on this willow-lined trail. I’ve passed a series of dog walkers. Some were tethered to their pets with extendable leashes. Others, like a brace of stubby-legged corgis, are free to bark and chase after my bicycle. Minutes after passing the little Welsh dogs, I slammed on the brakes when an adult moose walks onto the bike path and stands astride it like a crossing guard. Seconds later, her calf crosses the path. Mom gives me a long stare and she joins her child in a meal of young willows. After they have mowed their way into the woods, I continue on my way without having to dodge mom’s slashing hooves. I hope the corgis have the same luck.

mice

Leave a Reply

