Almost Fall

P1020158Back to the familiar with Aki—the trails on North Douglas Island. Unlike the lush summer conditions I experienced on my Vancouver Island bike tour, Juneau is tasting fall. You can see it in the berries, ripe, soft, almost sweet.You can feel it in the cool moist air still carrying a trace of last night’s rain storm. Already understory plants yellow and leaves fall. Soon the gray, wet, despair producing monsoons will come and stay until we pray for snow. Aki, although not a big fan of heavy rain, is more accepting than I of fall time in the rain forest. October I dream of desert dry; November I search the web for cheap flights south. But today, I pick a cup of full of perfectly red, round huckleberries that will enrich my lunch. Aki contents herself by chasing squirrels.P1020163

Leave a Reply

