Old Rondy Trail

P1130465

With a name like “The Old Rondy Trail” this dark line on the map promised a little adventure. It should also provide a way to avoid the traffic noise I would have to endure using the street alternative. So, at 6:45 on this overcast Anchorage day I steer my beefed up comfort bike onto packed gravel past a “Dog Musher Only Sign.” Knowing those boys won’t arrive until the winter snows I push on. It’s all civilized gravel until I reach a wooden bridge partially covered with tuffs of white hair. I guess it is from a shedding moose but can’t figure out why so much of it ended up on this flat wooden deck way.

P1130462

Now looking carefully for moose I continue through a boggy, birch dominated forest that offers occasional views of mountains. I have to ignore the possibility of moose when the trail deteriorates into an obstacle course of mud, ruts and exposed tree roots. Being a road bike guy it takes all of my mountain bike skills to make it to the pleasantly paved Campbell Creek Bike path and its easy trail back to the dorm.

Leave a Reply

